Posted in Main Dishes, RECIPES

In the Kitchen: Garlic Butter Shrimp Pasta

I made this recipe twice in one week. Now I’m wishing we had leftovers because I’m getting hungry just thinking about it. Unfortunately, I always try to cook just enough because our leftovers always end up sad and forgotten in the fridge.  

Anyway, let’s get to it! 

First of all, let me say this dish is nice for a dinner date if you’re trying to impress.  Also, if you like cheese 🙂

I love cheese. This one has parmesan, which I took the liberty of adding to my taste and not the measurement that’s on the recipe. Totally your call.

Annnnd…it’s not a romantic date without a little bit of your favorite wine, just enough to complement the flavor of the dried oregano and crushed red pepper flakes on the fried shrimp. I’m tasting it with my imagination. 

The recipe was originally found here, thanks to Pinterest. 

This, however, is my own photo of the finished result. Enjoy! 


INGREDIENTS: 

  • 8 ounces fettuccine (I used spaghetti because I didn’t have fettuccine)
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • Salt and ground black pepper, to taste
  • 8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, divided
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 cups baby arugula
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated Parmesan
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley leaves

INSTRUCTIONS: 

  1. In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook pasta according to package instructions; drain well.
  2. Season shrimp with salt and pepper, to taste; set aside.
  3. Melt 2 tablespoons butter in a large skillet over medium high heat. Add garlic, oregano and red pepper flakes, and cook, stirring frequently until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes.
  4. Add shrimp and cook, stirring occasionally, until pink, about 2-3 minutes; set aside.
  5. Melt remaining 6 tablespoons butter in the skillet. Stir in pasta, arugula and Parmesan until arugula begins to wilt, about 2 minutes. Stir in shrimp.
  6. Serve immediately, garnished with parsley, if desired.

One thought on “In the Kitchen: Garlic Butter Shrimp Pasta

Write what you think!